

Chairman: Jim Gillett

Clerk to the Council:

Miranda Parker 30 Park View Dr. South Charvil, READING Berks. RG10 9QX Tel Fax 0118 901 7719

Annual Meeting held on Monday 21st May 2018

<u>Present</u> Jim Gillett, Paul Mundy, Fi Mowlem, Jackie Jeffery, James Bell, John Hobson, Adrian Keward, Jane Hartley, Claire Andersen and Daljit Ryatt

Apologies for absence

Absent

<u>Election of the Chairman of Council</u>: Councillor Gillett opened the meeting and opened the election for the position of Chair. Councillor Gillett was proposed by Councillor Bell and seconded by Councillor Keward. **Councillor Gillett was re-elected as Chair of Council unopposed.**

There followed a lengthy discussion about how to re-organise the Council committees because it was agreed that there is regularly too much business for the Full Council meeting for items to be given the necessary scrutiny. It was therefore proposed to create a new Committee, to meet the week before Full Council, which would cover Planning, Environment and Highways. This was agreed unanimously.

There then followed a further discussion on how best to distribute Councillors amongst these committees, so that there was a blend of newer and more experienced Councillors. This also led to a discussion on the prescribed make-up of some committees, particularly the Finance Committee. The Clerk and Chairman were of the view that the present rule of this committee consisting of Heads of Committees with budgetary responsibilities plus the Vice Chair of the Council was sensible because it ensured that only those who had a full understanding of the Parish Council finances were involved, and, that in should ensure that there is a spread of responsibilities across the Council. This view was a minority one, not supported by the rest of the Council.

After much discussion, the elections were carried out as follows:

<u>Election of Vice-Chairman of Council</u> - Councillor Bell was proposed by Councillor Gillett and seconded by Councillor Hobson. Councillor Bell was unanimously elected as Vice Chairman of Council unopposed.

<u>COUNCIL LEAD POSITIONS</u> - The following were unanimously elected unopposed <u>Committee Chairmen</u>

<u>Planning, Environment & Highways</u> - Councillor Hartley was proposed by Councillor Gillett and seconded by Councillor Mundy **and was elected as Chairman of Planning, Environment and Highways**

<u>Amenities</u> - Councillor Keward was proposed by Councillor Andersen and seconded by Councillor Hobson, Councillor Keward was elected as Chairman of Amenities

<u>Finance</u> - Councillor Hartley proposed Councillor Bell and Councillor Mundy seconded him. Councillor Bell was retained as Chairman of Finance

<u>Staffing Committee</u>- Councillor Mundy was proposed by Councillor Bell and seconded by Councillor Mowlem. Councillor Mundy was elected as Chairman of the Staffing Committee

Village Newsletter - This was left vacant

ELECTION OF COMMITTEE VICE-CHAIRMEN AND LEAD MEMBERS

<u>Planning</u> – Councillor Jeffery was unanimously elected as Vice Chairman of Planning.

<u>Amenities</u> – Councillor Mundy was unanimously elected as Vice Chairman of Amenities.

<u>Finance</u> – Councillor Mundy was unanimously retained as Vice Chairman of Finance.

Highways & Public Transport (Lead Member) – This was left vacant.

<u>Environment</u> - Councillor Andersen was unanimously elected as lead member on the Environment on the Planning, Environment and Highways Committee.

<u>ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE STAFFING COMMITTEE</u> Councillors Mundy, Jeffery, Bell, Ryatt and Hartley were elected as members with the Chairman holding a watching brief

<u>ELELCTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE FINANCE COMMITTEE</u> the Chairman and councillors Bell, Keward and Mundy were duly elected

ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE AMENITIES COMMITTEE

In addition to The Chairman and the Chairman of the Amenities Committee, Councillors Mundy, Hartley and Hobson were unanimously elected as members of the Amenities Committee. Clerk's note: The Terms of Reference state that the Vice Chairman should be on this Committee but did not put himself forward.

<u>HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE</u> – Councillors Hartley, Jeffery, Mowlem, Ryatt and Andersen were duly elected

<u>ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE COMPLAINTS COMMITTEE</u> – Councillors Hartley, Keward, Andersen Bell, Gillett and Ryatt

APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER ORGANISATIONS

Wokingham Borough / Parish Conference – Cllr. Jeffery to continue until another Councillor can take over

Charities Trustees – Mrs. McCann, Mr. Gary Brooks and Cllr Jeffery. Newsletter Editors – Assistant Clerk and Fi Mowlem

WDALC - None

Neighbourhood Action Group – none

Website Administrator - Miranda Parker

Data Protection Officer - Andrew Moulton at WBC

<u>Review of Standing Orders</u> – It was resolved to adopt the latest versions of the model Standing Orders as they reflect recent changes in legislation. This was unanimously approved.

<u>Review of Risk Management, Financial Regulations and other policies</u> – It was explained that the Finance Committee had reviewed the Risk Management and Financial Regulations carefully, and so it was resolved to approve the review of these documents which was carried unanimously.

<u>Review of Terms of Reference</u> – Subject to a couple of changes, the content was approved. It was requested that all the documents should be formatted so that they have a consistent style.

The Annual Meeting closed at 8-40m.	
Signature Chairman of the Council	Signed on 18 June 2018