

Chairman: Jim Gillett

Clerk to the Council:

Miranda Parker 30 Park View Dr. South Charvil, READING Berks. RG10 9QX Tel Fax 0118 901 7719

Annual Meeting held on Monday 20th May 2019

<u>Present</u> Jim Gillett, Paul Mundy, Greg Elphick, Jackie Jeffery, Adrian Keward, Jane Hartley, Pat Sutlieff and Claire Andersen

<u>Apologies for absence</u> James Bell and Daljit Ryatt **Absent**

<u>Election of the Chairman of Council</u>: Councillor Gillett opened the meeting and opened the election for the position of Chair. Councillor Gillett was proposed by Councillor Jeffery and seconded by Councillor Keward. **Councillor Gillett was re-elected as Chair of Council unopposed.**

<u>Election of Vice-Chairman of Council</u> - Councillor Hartley was proposed by Councillor Andersen and seconded by Councillor Mundy. **Councillor Hartley was unanimously elected as Vice Chairman of Council unopposed**.

<u>COUNCIL LEAD POSITIONS</u> - The following were unanimously elected unopposed Committee Chairmen

<u>Planning, Environment & Highways</u> - Councillor Hartley was proposed by Councillor Gillett and seconded by Councillor Andersen and was re-elected as Chairman of Planning, Environment and Highways

<u>Amenities</u> - Councillor Keward was proposed by Councillor Sutlieff and seconded by Councillor Mundy. Councillor Keward was retained as Chairman of Amenities

<u>Finance</u> - Councillor Keward proposed Councillor Mundy and Councillor Gillett seconded him. Councillor Mundy was elected as Chairman of Finance

<u>Staffing Committee</u>- Councillor Andersen was proposed by Councillor Elphick and seconded by Councillor Jeffery. Councillor Andersen was elected as Chairman of the Staffing Committee

<u>ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE STAFFING COMMITTEE</u> Councillors Mundy, Ryatt, Sutlieff and Hartley were elected as members with the Chairman holding a watching brief

<u>ELELCTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE FINANCE COMMITTEE</u> the Chairman and councillors Mundy, Keward, Andersen and Hartley were duly elected.

ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE AMENITIES COMMITTEE

In addition to The Chairman and the Chairman of the Amenities Committee, Councillors Mundy and Sutlieff were unanimously elected as members of the Amenities Committee.

Clerk's note: The Terms of Reference state that the Vice Chairman should be on this Committee but in this instance the vice chair will represent Council on the Borough Parish Working Group instead.

ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE PLANNING, ENVIRONMENT AND HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE – Councillors Hartley, Ryatt and Andersen were duly elected

<u>ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE COMPLAINTS COMMITTEE</u> – Councillors Hartley, Keward, Andersen, Sutlieff, Gillett and Ryatt were duly elected

APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER ORGANISATIONS

Wokingham Borough / Parish Conference – Cllr. Hartley

Charities Trustees – Mrs. McCann and Mrs. Jeffery (on two trusts). Newsletter Editors – Assistant Clerk and Fi Mowlem

WDALC - None

Neighbourhood Action Group – none

Campaign against Waste - none

Website Administrator - Miranda Parker

Data Protection Officer - Andrew Moulton at WBC

<u>Review of Standing Orders</u> – It was resolved that there were still valid, so no changes were made. This was unanimously approved.

Review of Risk Management, Financial Regulations and other policies – It was resolved that the clerk would alter the wording on signatories to reflect the fact that the clerk would now be a signatory on the two Savings Accounts to allow her to administer them but that three signatures would now be required for these. No other changes were needed at this point. This was reviewed unanimously. As far as other policies were concerned, the clerk was asked to update the Freedom of Information Policy but apart from that, aside from one or two typographical mistakes, there were no changes required at this point.

<u>Review of Terms of Reference</u> – It was resolved that these did not need updating at this point, which was carried unanimously

The Annual Meeting closed at 8-30pm.	
Signature Chairman of the Council	Signed on 17 June 2019