

Clerk to the Council Miranda Parker Charvil Village Hall The Hawthorns Charvil, Reading Berks RG10 9TT

www.charvil.com

Annual Meeting held on Monday 23rd May 2022 in Charvil Village Hall at 7.30pm

Present

Jane Hartley, Mike Heath, Rob Jones, Pat Sutlieff, Matt Walker, and Hilary Jones

Apologies for absence David Oppong

Absent Narinder Ryatt

Election of the Chairman of Council:

Councillor Hartley opened the meeting and opened the election for the position of Chair. Councillor Heath proposed Councillor Hartley and was seconded by Councillor Hilary Jones. Councillor Hartley was re-elected as Chair of Council unopposed.

Election of Vice-Chairman of Council:

Councillor Sutlieff was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Hilary Jones

Councillor Sutlieff was re-elected as Vice Chairman of Council unopposed.

COUNCIL LEAD POSITIONS

The following were unanimously elected unopposed

Committee Chairmen

Planning, Environment & Highways - Councillor Heath was proposed by Councillor Hilary Jones and seconded by Councillor Walker **and was re-elected as Chairman of Planning, Environment and Highways**

Amenities - Councillor Sutlieff was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Hilary Jones. **Councillor Sutlieff was elected as Chairman of Amenities**

Staffing Committee- Councillor Sutlieff was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Heath. **Councillor Sutlieff was elected as Chairman of the Staffing Committee**

Finance - Councillor Sutlieff proposed Councillor Walker and Councillor Hilary Jones seconded him. **Councillor Walker was elected as Chairman of Finance**

Complaints – Councillor Hartley was proposed by Councillor Hilary Jones and was seconded by Councillor Sutlieff. **Councillor Hartley was elected unopposed as Chair of the Complaints Committee**

Pavilion Working Group – Councillor Ryatt was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Sutlieff. **Councillor Ryatt was elected as lead member on the Pavilion Working Group**

Council Vice Chair Positions

Planning, Environment and Highways – Councillor Ryatt was proposed by Councillor Hilary Jones and seconded by Councillor Hartley. Councillor Ryatt was re-elected unopposed as the Vice Chair of Planning, Environment and Highways

1	86	2

Amenities – Councillor Hartley proposed Councillor Hilary Jones and Councillor Walker seconded her. Councillor Hilary Jones was elected unopposed as Vice Chair of Amenities

Staffing – Councillor Heath was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Sutlieff. **Councillor Heath was elected unopposed as Vice Chair of Staffing**

Finance – Councillor Heath was proposed by Councillor Sutlieff and seconded by Councillor Hartley. **Councillor Heath was elected unopposed as Vice Chair of Finance**

Complaints – Councillor Sutlieff was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Heath. **Councillor Sutlieff was elected unopposed as Vice Chair of Complaints**

Pavilion Working Group – Councillor Walker was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Heath. Councillor Walker was elected unopposed as vice lead on the Pavilion Working Group

Election of Members of Committees

ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE PLANNING, ENVIRONMENT AND HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE – Councillors Heath, Ryatt, Sutlieff, Walker and Rob Jones were duly elected

ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE AMENITIES COMMITTEE

In addition to The Chairman (Councillor Hartley), the Vice Chair/Chair of Amenities (Councillor Sutlieff), Councillors Hilary Jones, and Oppong were unanimously elected as members of the Amenities Committee.

ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE STAFFING COMMITTEE Councillors Sutlieff, Heath, Oppong and Walker were elected as members with the Chairman holding a watching brief

ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE FINANCE COMMITTEE the Chairman and Councillors Sutlieff, Walker, and Heath were duly elected

ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE COMPLAINTS COMMITTEE – Councillors Hartley, Sutlieff, Rob Jones, Heath, Oppong, Ryatt, and Walker were duly elected.

ELELCTION OF PAVILION WORKING GROUP MEMBERS – Councillors Ryatt, Walker, Heath and Hartley were duly elected.

APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER ORGANISATIONS

Wokingham Borough Liaison/ Parish Conference – Councillor Heath, Deputy – Councillor Rob Jones

Northern Parishes Communication Group - Councillor Rob Jones

WDALC/BALC - TBC

Almshouse Trustee - Claire Andersen

Sonning Education and Welfare Trust-TBC

Poor's Land Charity Trustee - Mrs Lauren McCann

Website Administrator – Clerk

Data Protection Officer – Andrew Moulton at WBC

Review of Standing Orders

It was resolved to adopt the 2022 Revision, which was approved subject to minor corrections

1	863	

Review of Risk Management, Financial Regulations, and other policies

The Finance Committee had reviewed the Risk Management Policy and the Financial Regulations, and their recommendations were accepted. In the review of the other documents, Councillors were happy that the other documents were still valid subject to some minor changes (e.g., changes of address). This agreed by other members.

Review of Terms of Reference

It was resolved that these did not need updating at this point, apart from removing reference to the EU in the Finance ones, which was carried unanimously

The Annual Meeting closed at 8-06pm.	
Signature Signed on 20 June 2022 Chairman of the Council	