

Clerk to the Council Miranda Parker Charvil Village Hall The Hawthorns Charvil, Reading Berks RG10 9TT

www.charvil.com

Annual Meeting held on Monday 22nd May 2023 in Charvil Village Hall at 8pm

Present

Jane Hartley, Mike Heath, Rob Jones, Pat Sutlieff, Matt Walker, Narinder Ryatt, and Stephen Lucas. The Amenities Manager and Media Assistant also attended

Apologies for absence

Absent Isabelle Bray

Election of the Chairman of Council:

Councillor Hartley opened the meeting and opened the election for the position of Chair. Councillor Hartley proposed Councillor Sutlieff and was seconded by Councillor Heath. Councillor Sutlieff was elected as Chair of Council unopposed.

Election of Vice-Chairman of Council:

Councillor Jones was proposed by Councillor Heath and seconded by Councillor Walker

Councillor Jones was elected as Vice Chairman of Council unopposed.

Councillors Sutlieff and Jones then signed the Acceptance of Declarations of Office.

COMMITTEES

The following were unanimously elected unopposed

Committee Chairmen

Planning, Environment & Highways - Councillor Heath was proposed by Councillor Ryatt and seconded by Councillor Jones. **Councillor Heath was re-elected as Chairman of Planning, Environment and Highways**

Amenities - Councillor Hartley was proposed by Councillor Sutlieff and seconded by Councillor Ryatt. **Councillor Hartley was elected as Chairman of Amenities**

Staffing Committee- Councillor Bray was proposed by Councillor Sutlieff and seconded by Councillor Walker. **Councillor Bray was elected as Chairman of the Staffing Committee**

Finance - Councillor Ryatt proposed Councillor Walker and Councillor Sutlieff seconded him. **Councillor Walker was re-elected as Chairman of Finance**

Complaints – Councillor Hartley was proposed by Councillor Sutlieff and was seconded by Councillor Lucas. **Councillor Hartley was re-elected as Chair of the Complaints Committee**

Council Vice Chair Positions

Planning, Environment and Highways – Councillor Jones was proposed by Councillor Heath and seconded by Councillor Hartley. Councillor Jones was elected unopposed as the Vice Chair of Planning, Environment and Highways

Amenities – Councillor Hartley proposed Councillor Bray and Councillor Sutlieff seconded her. Councillor Bray was elected unopposed as Vice Chair of Amenities

862

Staffing – Councillor Ryatt was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Walker. **Councillor Ryatt was elected unopposed as Vice Chair of Staffing**

Finance – Councillor Lucas was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Jones. **Councillor Lucas was elected unopposed as Vice Chair of Finance**

Complaints – Councillor Lucas was proposed by Councillor Sutlieff and seconded by Councillor Jones. **Councillor Lucas was elected unopposed as Vice Chair of Complaints**

Pavilion Working Group – Councillor Walker was proposed by Councillor Hartley and seconded by Councillor Heath. **Councillor Walker was elected unopposed as vice lead on the Pavilion Working Group**

Election of Members of Committees

ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE PLANNING, ENVIRONMENT AND HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE – Councillors Heath, Ryatt, Sutlieff, Lucas and Rob Jones were duly elected

ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE AMENITIES COMMITTEE

In addition to The Chairman (Councillor Sutlieff), the Vice Chair (Councillor Jones), the Chair of Amenities (Councillor Hartley), Councillors Bray, Ryatt and Walker were unanimously elected as members of the Amenities Committee.

ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE STAFFING COMMITTEE Councillors Bray, Heath, Ryatt, and Walker were elected as members with the Chairman holding a watching brief

ELECTION OF COUNCIL MEMBERS TO THE FINANCE COMMITTEE the Chairman and Councillors Jones, Hartley, Walker, Lucas, and Heath were duly elected

ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MEMBERS TO THE COMPLAINTS COMMITTEE – Councillors Hartley, Sutlieff, Jones, Heath, Lucas, Bray, Ryatt, and Walker were duly elected.

ELECTION OF LEAD MEMBERS BY TOPIC

Planning – Councillor Heath

Environment - Councillor Jones

Highways – Councillor Lucas

Village Hall – Councillor Hartley

East Park Farm - Councillor Sutlieff

St Patrick's Recreation Ground - Councillor Jones

Website/Social Media – Councillor Bray

APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER ORGANISATIONS

Wokingham Borough Liaison/ Parish Conference – Councillor Heath, Deputy – Councillor Hartley

Northern Parishes Communication Group – Councillor Jones

WDALC/BALC - Councillor Walker

Almshouse Trustee - Claire Andersen

Sonning Education and Welfare Trust- Mrs Hilary Jones

Poor's Land Charity Trustee – Mrs Lauren McCann

Website Administrator – Clerk

Data Protection Officer - Andrew Moulton at WBC

18	363
----	-----

Review of Standing Orders

It was resolved to amend the Standing Orders, to limit the term a Councillor can be Chair of Council to two years, but that this does not preclude them from standing as Chair again in future years.

Review of Risk Management, Financial Regulations, and other policies

The Finance Committee had reviewed the Risk Management Policy and the Financial Regulations, and their recommendations were accepted. In the review of the other documents, Councillors were happy that most other documents were still valid subject to some minor changes (e.g., changes of address). This agreed by other members. The exceptions were the Policy for management of the facilities at a discounted rate and the policy for the management of the facilities for hire, and the Safeguarding Policy and procedures, which will be reviewed in more detail by the Amenities Committee.

Review of Terms of Reference

It was resolved that these did not need updating at this point, which was carried unanimously.

The Annual Meeting closed at 8-47pm.	
Signature	
Signed on 19 June 2023 Chairman of the Council	